Skip to Content    Skip to Footer

Academic Council

The Role of the AC

The Academic Council (AC), formerly known as the Academic Affairs Council until August 2021 when the name changed, represents the full-time faculty and serves as liaison to the Academic Discipline Subject Areas (ADSA) and to the College administration. It develops, interprets and makes recommendations to executive administration related to the welfare of the faculty and student body. The AC considers matters referred to it by faculty, staff, administration and students.

All faculty are represented by the AC, which is the voice of the faculty in academic matters. Concerns can be communicated through elected representatives or may be directly addressed to the AC. Academic Council processes are documentd in the AC Handbook. Please contact the Chair of the Council for the most current copy.

The Council meets monthly during the major semesters. AC meetings are open to all members of the College community. Those wishing to be part of the meeting agenda should contact the chair or the vice-chair.

AC Committees and the Academic Discipline Subject Area Committees play a key role in the Council and are covered in separate web sections through the links below. The AC also maintains many key documents and forms used by faculty.

Involved AC Volunteers

Committees play a key role in the operation of the Academic Council and these committees rely on the involvement of faculty volunteers and when appropriate College staff who play a role in the committee's area of interest.

Information about each committee, including documents and meeting minutes, are available on each committee's webpage.

Anthony Akers, AC Chair

Laura Dunn, AC Vice Chair

Michelle Stanifer, AC Secretary

Committee Chairs

Academic Diversity Committee
Dorothy McCalla, 321-433-5207

Academic Integrity Committee
(Joint with Online Steeing Council)
Joe Wakim, 321-433-5667

Academic Programs Assessment Committee
Dr. Robert Lamb, 321-433-7629

Curriculum Development Committee
Patricia Harmon, 321-433-7642

Educational Technology Advisory Committee
Michelle Stanifer, 321-433-5057

Faculty Handbook Committee
Anthony Akers, 321-433-5685

Library Committee
Ashley Olund, 321-433-5579

Open Educational Resources Committee
Marian Smith, 321-433-5601

Additional Contacts

  1. Academic Discipline Chairs
AC 2023-2024 Meetings

View curriculum related dates & deadlines

August 18, 2023, 9:15 AM - 1 PM: Melbourne, Bldg. 7, Rm. 114

September 22, 2023, 9:15 AM - 1 PM: Virtual via MS Teams

October 20, 2023, 9:15 AM - 1 PM: Virtual via MS Teams

November 17, 2023, 9:15 AM - 1 PM: Virtual via MS Teams

January 12, 2024, 9:15 AM - 1 PM: Location TBA

February 16, 2024, 9:15 AM - 1 PM: Virtual via MS Teams

March 15, 2024, 9:15 AM - 1 PM: Virtual via MS Teams

April 19, 2024, 9:15 AM - 1 PM: Virtual via MS Teams