Skip to Content    Skip to Footer

Distinguished Educator Award

The Distinguished Educator Recognition Award, coordinated by EFSC's Professional Development Council, is open to full-time faculty and librarians at EFSC. It is awarded annually to a colleague who has demonstrated commitment, creativity, and ingenuity in serving EFSC students as they work to meet their degree and educational goals.

This prestigious honor includes a $1,500 cash prize made possible by the generous support of the Eastern Florida State College Foundation.

Because this is a lifetime achievement honor, previous recipients of the award are not eligible for nomination. Final candidates will be selected by the Professional Development Council. Review the tabbed box for information on the nomination process, criteria, detailed nomination and award timeline, plus past award recipients.

Nominations for the Distinguished Educator Recognition Award may be made by EFSC faculty, staff, or currently enrolled students. Nominations must be made through the writable 2024 form which can be downloaded below.

Download 2024 Nomination Form

Email your completed form to by the Friday, February 9, 2024 deadline.

Please see the Timeline tab for additional dates and deadlines during the next phase of the award process.

A Distinguished Educator:
  • Demonstrates professional expertise
  • Incorporates best practice with teaching and assessment in the classroom
  • Self-reflects and engages in regular professional development to improve their practice
  • Collaborates with colleagues to develop and improve curriculum, teaching, and student performance
  • Engages with the students outside of the classroom, such as through mentoring, tutoring, and/or co-curricular activities

2024 Timeline

The honoree nomination and selection process includes nominees submitting additional award application information and interviews following this timeline during the 2023-2024 academic calendar year:

Friday, February 9, 2024: Nomination Forms are Due to the Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning via email:

Tuesday, February 13, 2024: Faculty nominees notified/provided application

Thursday, March 21, 2024: Candidate applications due to CETL

Friday March 22, 2024: Candidate applications made available to the Professional Development Council

Wednesday, April 10, 2024: Individual council member ratings due to Council chairperson

Monday, April 15, 2024: Council recommendations due to Dean of Instruction

Thursday, August 1, 2024: Awardee notified by Dean of Instruction

The information below includes the previous winner's title, position and campus at the time the award was presented.

Tony Akers, Associate Professor
English & Humanities, Online

Marina Baratian, Professor
Behavioral Science, Melbourne

Carrie Wells, Assistant Professor
English, Palm Bay

Susan Houts, Associate Professor
Speech and Communications, Palm Bay

Sharon Cronk-Raby, Assistant Professor
Writing Center Coordinator, Melbourne Campus

Dr. Ashley Spring, Assistant Professor Biology, Melbourne Campus

Laura Earle, D.V.M., M.P.H., CPH, C.A.C.
Professor, Program Manager
Veterinary Technology, Cocoa Campus

Mark McBride, Associate Professor
English, Palm Bay Campus

Ben Brotemarkle, Professor
Humanities, Titusville Campus

Deborah McClinton, Assistant Professor
Chemistry, Melbourne Campus

Kathelyn Patria, Instructor
English, Titusville Campus

Linda Krupp, Professor
Education, Cocoa Campus

Susan Phillips, Assistant Professor
Biology, Palm Bay Campus

Rita Hallock, Assistant Professor
Allied Health Technologies, Cocoa Campus

Beverly Slaughter, Associate Professor
Communications, Melbourne Campus

James Yount, Professor
Biology/Physical Sciences, Titusville Campus

Don Argo, Professor
Mathematics, Cocoa Campus

Lin Osborne, Professor
World Religions, Cocoa Campus

Betsy Baughan, Assistant Professor
Child & Family Studies, Cocoa Campus

Rolf Sohn, Instructor
Science, Cocoa Campus

Jane Kennedy, Professor
Reading/Study Skills, Cocoa Campus

Susan Lamm-Merritt, Associate Professor
Fashion Merchandising, Melbourne Campus

Jeff Reynolds, Associate Professor
Music, Melbourne Campus

Miguel Olivella, Professor
Spanish, Cocoa Campus

Mary Nardo, Associate Professor
Communications, Titusville Campus

Dr. Wendy McLallen

Dr. Wendy McLallen

Associate Professor, English
2023 Distinguished Educator

Dr. McLallen was honored for her work inside and outside the classroom in areas such as course planning and professional development.

Read Complete Story