Skip to Content    Skip to Footer

Successful Golf Classic Enriches EFSC Student Scholarships

September 22, 2017
View more golf classic photos in our Facebook photo album.

Stuart Braudrick admitted that his team probably plays golf together a bit too much, saying they play two or three times a week.

golfers with Titan mascot
The winning golf team of Dean Wylie, Tyler Cox, Cody Bell and Stuart Braudrick are pictured from left to right with EFSC's Mr. Titan mascot.

But it paid off on Friday afternoon as Braudrick, Tyler Cox, Cody Bell and Dean Wylie teamed up to win the 4th Annual Eastern Florida State College Foundation Scholarship Golf Classic at the Suntree Country Club.

The foursome had four eagles, 12 birdies and a couple of pars in the 18-hole best ball tournament, winning by four strokes.

“That was a little better than normal for us, but we hit a lot of putts today and we knew we would be hard to beat,” said Braudrick who along with his teammates donated the cash winnings back to the school’s scholarship fund. The top three teams also received Suntree Country Club gift cards.

Dr. Jim Richey addresses golfers
EFSC president Dr. Jim Richey addresses the golfers as they line up to begin the tournament.

The team of Jason Snodgrass, Todd Denson, Tim Fields and Mike Van Der Werken placed second with a 55 — one stroke ahead of the team of Paul Mette, Jim Banford, Danny Freedoff and Doc Schard.

Mike Preiner won the longest drive contest and a free round of golf for four at Stone Creek Country Club. Eric Garvey, Frankie Green, Sean O’Reilly and Banford all won prizes for having shots closest to the hole. Amanda Mitskevich won the top door prize, a new Titans golf bag. There were also gift cards and other items given away as door prizes throughout the day.

golfersTournament sponsors included Boniface Hiers, Beef O’Brady’s, Ajax, Am-Ko, American Service Technology, BRPH, ABI, Architects RZK Inc., Art-Kraft Sign Co., Boys Electric, Brown & Brown, Buena Vida Estates, Carroll Distributing, Curt Myers/State Farm, Genna Pizza Company, Health First, Hilton Rialto, Ivey’s Construction, Jersey Mike’s, Lightholder Inc., Maxwell King, MET-CON, MH Williams Construction Group, Moletteire Injury Law, Mucho Mahalo, Richard’s Paint, SeaDek, Security 101, The Viera Company, Tietjen Technologies, Titusville Mowing & Landscaping Inc. and Tropical Smiles.

In-kind sponsors were the Brevard County Tax Collector’s Office, Bridgestone Golf Inc., Canteen Vending Service, Carroll Distributing, Chick-fil-a, Cocoa Beach Country Club, Community Credit Union, Courtyard by Marriott Cocoa Beach, Cozy Corner Café, Curri Kirschner Real Estate Group, Fishlips Waterfront Bar & Grill, Gator’s Dockside, Grille’s Seafood Deck & Tiki Bar, Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach, Lighthouse Cove Adventure Golf, Longhorn Steakhouse, Marco’s Pizza, Maxine’s, Pepsi, Planet Smoothie, Starbucks, Stone Creek Country Club, Suntree Country Club, Target, Tires Plus, US1 Golf Center and Winn Dixie.

Following the golf tournament, players enjoyed a dinner at Suntree Country Club before the awards ceremony.

Established in 1971, the Eastern Florida State College Foundation is a not-for-profit, 501(c)(3) corporation that provides financial support for student scholarships and educational programs. To learn more or make a donation, visit