Skip to Content    Skip to Footer

Moses L. Harvin, Sr. Elected Chair of EFSC s Board of Trustees

August 15, 2016

Moses L. Harvin, Sr. has been selected as the new chair of the Eastern Florida State College Board of the Trustees, saying his priority is continuing the college’s expansion of new programs and facilities.

Harvin was unanimously elected to the post for 2016-17 by fellow board members at their Monday meeting, with Alan Landman unanimously elected vice chair.

“I’m honored to hold the position and plan to work closely with my colleagues on the board to keep the college’s very strong momentum going,” said Harvin.

“College President Dr. Jim Richey is providing excellent leadership, with our students having ever more access to new programs that are putting them on great career tracks.”

Harvin noted the college has not raised tuition five straight years under Richey, saying “I want to see that continue because keeping college affordable is a real game-changer in people’s lives.”

Harvin and Landman have played a central role in helping the college launch 40 new academic programs during the past four years, the most dynamic period of growth in its history.

The programs include Bachelor and Associate Degrees in Business, Health Care and Computer Technologies, with more than 1,000 students enrolled in the popular four-year programs this fall.

Both have also overseen major building projects on the Melbourne campus, including construction of a new Public Safety Institute and Health Sciences Institute with more new facilities planned.

“The college is moving into the future in remarkable fashion and things are going to keep getting even better,” said Landman.

Harvin is a retired Army major who joined the board in 2011 and most recently served as vice chair.

He is President and CEO of American Services Technology, Inc., a company that serves federal agencies including the Air Force, Army, Marine Corps, Department of Veterans Affairs and Department of Energy.

Landman is an attorney in Brevard County who has served on the EFSC board since 2009, including two terms as board chair.