Skip to Content    Skip to Footer

Biology Professor Honored as Distinguished Educator

January 7, 2016

Dr. Ashley Spring, an Assistant Professor of Biology, has received the prestigious Distinguished Educator Recognition Award for 2016 from Eastern Florida State College.

Barbara Kennedy and Ashley Spring
Dr. Ashley Spring receives EFSC's 2015 Distinguished Educator Award from Barbara Kennedy, Associate Provost, Titusville Campus and a board member with the College's Center for Teaching Excellence.

Spring, who teaches on the Melbourne campus, was selected for creating an enriching educational experience for students inside and outside the classroom.

“Dr. Spring is a great example of the outstanding faculty we have at Eastern Florida and the dedication they show very day,” said Dr. Linda Miedema, Vice President for Academic Affairs and Chief Learning Officer.

“Her energy and excitement rubs off on students who know she’s always there to help them succeed. Biology can be a daunting subject, but in the hands of Dr. Spring it’s an inviting window into the world around us.”

In a nomination letter, Spring was praised for always being available to tutor students after class and posting her lectures online along with links to related websites and videos.

She was also cited for creating an inquisitive classroom environment that makes student comfortable to ask questions.

In another area, Spring founded Women in Science and Engineering (WiSE) at EFSC to help steer women into science careers.

The group offers monthly seminars with guest speakers, career workshops, trips to research facilities and mentoring.

She also co-founded the Office of Undergraduate Research (OUR) to help prepare students to pursue Bachelor Degrees at Eastern Florida or other colleges and universities.

In all, “Dr. Spring’s progressive outlook, diligence and commitment to providing an enriching education while maximizing every student’s potential” earned her the award, the nomination letter said.

The Distinguished Educator Award began in 1989 and is presented annually to a faculty member who demonstrates excellence in scholarship, instructional effectiveness and connecting with students.

Nominations are made by faculty, students and staff, with representatives from each comprising the selection committee.