COVID Update:

EFSC has returned to normal pre-COVID operations, with full capacity on-campus classes and events. Click for the COVID Reporting Requirements and the Return to Campus Approval Process which remain in place. See the Student Services Guide for on-campus services available on a walk-in basis or by appointment, plus virtual options. Read the latest updates.

Contact: John J. Glisch, Associate Vice President, Communications
Office:    321-433-7017 
Cell:         321-794-0324

Gov. DeSantis Appoints EFSC Trustees to New Terms

January 4, 2021 - Gov. Ron DeSantis has appointed three members of the Eastern Florida State College Board of Trustees to new four-year terms.

The trustees are Ronald Howse, Dr. Edgar Figueroa and Bruce Deardoff. The appointments are subject to confirmation from the Florida Senate.

Here is a look at the trustees:

Ronald Howse - EFSC Trustee• Howse, of Cocoa, is the current Vice Chair of the Board and has served since 2015.

He is president of Real Deal Development Group and the current Chairman of the Florida Transportation Commission. Howse is a former board member of the East Central Florida Regional Planning Council, Osceola County Chamber of Commerce, and the former Assistant Director of Public Works for the City of Altamonte Springs.

He earned his Bachelor’s Degree in Engineering from the University of Central Florida.

Dr. Edgar Figueroa, EFSC Trustee• Figueroa, of Melbourne, has served on the Board since 2018.

He is a trauma Surgeon at Health First Holmes Regional Medical Center. Previously, he was Medical Director at the University of Florida Health Science Center. He is also Medical Staff President at Holmes Regional Medical Center and a Fellow of the American Council of Surgeons.

He is a graduate of the University of Puerto Rico, Humacao College and earned his Doctor of Medicine from the University of Central del Este.

Bruce Deardoff, EFSC Trustee• Deardoff, of Cocoa Beach, has served on the Board since 2018.

He is Chairman of Deardoff Automotive Group and served seven years as a commissioner on the Canaveral Port Authority. He is a member of the Civilian Military Foundation of Brevard and Propeller Club of Port Canaveral. He has also been recognized as Brevard County’s Entrepreneur of the Year.

Deardoff earned his Bachelor’s Degree in Marketing from Fordham University.

The two other current members of the Board are Alan Landman, a Melbourne attorney and the Board’s chair, and Moses Harvin Sr., of Melbourne, who is President and CEO of American Services Technology.

Eastern Florida State College has four campuses in Brevard County plus offers fully online programs and courses through Eastern Florida Online.