Contact: John J. Glisch, Associate Vice President, Communications
Office:    321-433-7017 
Cell:         321-794-0324

EFSC Earns PTK Honors at National Meeting

April 30, 2018 - The Melbourne Campus Chapter of Eastern Florida State College's honors society earned three major awards recently at the Phi Theta Kappa National Convention in Kansas City.

award recipients in evening wear, four women and one man
Phi Theta Kappa, Chi Nu Chapter Award Presentation: From left to right, International PTK President Amanda Karpinski; Chi Nu Incoming President Ina Dininno; Chi Nu Current President Michaylla Boring; International Chapter Member Award Winner Kevin Lopez; Chi Nu Scholarship V.P. Carina Rodriguez

Kevin Lopez was honored with the Distinguished Chapter Member Award for his work with Melbourne's Chi Nu Chapter, one of just 30 students selected from national nominations based on scholarship, leadership, service and fellowship.

Michaylla Boring was officially honored as a Coca Cola Team Gold Scholar for her membership on the prestigious national All-USA Academic Team, which includes a $1,500 scholarship.

The Melbourne Campus Chi Nu Chapter received special recognition at the Hallmark Award's Gala with a College Project Award for its work on EFSC campus security measures.

“The accomplishments of these students and the Melbourne Campus chapter are examples of the commitment to excellence shown by students at Eastern Florida,” said Dr. Linda Miedema, Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs and Chief Learning Officer.

“We’re very proud of them and all the other students who have striven to put their best efforts forward this year.”