COVID-19 Update: Select EFSC services are available on campus, with prior appointments required in most cases and facial coverings and social distancing requirements in place. See the Updated Student Services Guide for details about on-campus access and continuing virtual services. EFSC has reopened its four campuses for the Fall Term with many classes online, limited in-person classes and safety measures in place to protect against COVID-19. View Reopening Plan updates & FAQ.

Contact: John J. Glisch, Associate Vice President, Communications
Office:    321-433-7017 
Cell:         321-794-0324

Gov. Scott Reappoints Two Eastern Florida Trustees

August 6, 2014 - Gov. Rick Scott has reappointed two members of the Eastern Florida State College Board of Trustees to new terms.

The trustees are Dewey Harris, director of the Harris Miller & Bernhardt, P.A., accounting firm in Rockledge, and Myra Haley, president of The Suntree Partners and the Igo Family Foundation.

The two have played a key role in turning Eastern Florida State College into a four-year institution and approving 22 new academic programs since 2012, including nine Bachelor Degree tracks.

The programs are geared to fast-growth job fields and providing local and regional business and industry with skilled employees.

Eastern Florida President Dr. Jim Richey thanked Gov. Scott for the reappointments, saying Harris and Haley have “served the college in exemplary ways through their strong leadership and vision in providing more educational opportunities to residents in our community.

“I value their leadership a great deal and will continue seeking their guidance as the college offers more new academic programs and initiatives in the years ahead,” he said. “Brevard County and the entire East-Central Florida region is fortunate to have them steering us forward.”

Harris and Haley were first appointed to the Board of Trustees in 2010 and 2011, respectively. Their new four-year terms were announced Tuesday and run through May 31, 2018.

The reappointments are subject to confirmation by the Florida Senate.

The college’s other board members are chair Alan Landman, a Melbourne attorney, vice-chair Steve Charpentier, also a Melbourne attorney, and trustee Moses Harvin, president and CEO of American Services Technology, Inc., in Rockledge.