COVID-19 Update: As of Aug. 3, select EFSC services are available on campus, with prior appointments required in most cases and facial coverings and social distancing requirements in place. See the Updated Student Services Guide for details about on-campus access and continuing virtual services. EFSC will reopen its four campuses in August for the Fall Term with many classes online, limited in-person classes and safety measures in place to protect against COVID-19. View Reopening Plan updates & FAQ.

Contact: John J. Glisch, Associate Vice President, Communications
Office:    321-433-7017 
Cell:         321-794-0324

'4 Under 40' Winners Honored at Eastern Florida

February 28, 2014 - Four young professionals were honored for their leadership and commitment to community service Friday night during LEAD Brevard's annual 4 Under 40 awards at Eastern Florida State College.

Community leaders filled the Simpkins Fine Arts Center on the Cocoa campus for the event, which was co-sponsored by the Eastern Florida State College Foundation.

Dr. John Dietrich, the college's Vice President for Enrollment Management and Student Success, thanked LEAD Brevard for its work in "identifying the next generation of Space Coast leaders."

He also said the college's new Bachelor Degree programs in Business, Health Care and Information Technologies that are scheduled to start in August will provide more opportunities for young adults to advance their careers.

The following winners were selected from 12 finalists:

• Susan Hammerling, 37, a physician's assistant with Dr. Ross Clevens, Melbourne.

• Erica Lemp, 32, a program officer with Career Source Brevard, Rockledge.

• Michelle Naberhaus, 37, a Suntree-Viera attorney.

• Jarvis Walsh, 36, pastor and founder of the R.E.A.L. Church and My Community Cares, Rockledge.

LEAD Brevard also honored two others for their work in improving life along the Space Coast.

The Distinguished Alumni Award was given to State Rep. Steve Crisafulli of Merritt Island, the in-coming Speaker of the Florida House of Representatives.

Crisafulli is an Eastern Florida State College graduate whose work in the Legislature has focused on boosting business, agriculture and the space program.

The Rodney S. Ketcham Leadership Award was given to Brevard County Commissioner Robyn Fisher for his efforts in revitalizing Titusville and North Brevard in the post-shuttle era.

LEAD Brevard is a non-profit, community based organization committed to leadership development and citizen engagement.