COVID Update:

Effective May 16, 2022, EFSC has returned to normal pre-COVID operations, with full capacity on-campus classes and events. Click for the COVID Reporting Requirements and the Return to Campus Approval Process which remain in place. See the Student Services Guide for on-campus services available on a walk-in basis or by appointment, plus virtual options. Read the latest updates .

Contact: John J. Glisch, Associate Vice President, Communications
Office:    321-433-7017 
Cell:         321-794-0324

Dental Student Earns Top Honors


lisa soderberg

October 7, 2013 - A recent Eastern Florida State College graduate has received the prestigious “Chancellor’s Student of the Month” award that’s given to the top college students in Florida.

Lisa Soderberg, who recently graduated with an Associate in Science Degree in Dental Hygiene, received the honor for October from Chancellor Randall Hanna, who oversees the 28-member Florida College System that includes Eastern Florida.

Dr. Jim Richey, Eastern Florida’s president, congratulated Soderberg, saying she “exemplifies the best qualities of Eastern Florida students in her dedicated pursuit of academics and her strong focus on career goals. I’m extremely proud of what she has accomplished and so is everyone else at the college.”

Soderberg was nominated by Jeanie Dent, a dental hygiene instructor on the Cocoa campus, who said Soderberg entered the program with no prior dental experience “yet she maintained the top averages and grades in all of my classes and clinic” and always came to class “well prepared and ready for the material presented.”

“She leads the class in discussions and volunteers to help others understand the material. She will be a great asset to the private industry of dentistry and she is a great role mode of a successful (Eastern Florida) student and graduate,” said Dent.

Soderberg will be featured in the monthly Florida College System newsletter that’s distributed to more than 700 leaders in higher education in Florida. She will also receive a letter and certificate from Chancellor Hanna recognizing her achievement.