Spring Term 2021 Classes are open for registration, with increased on-campus options, including expanded Hybrid offerings, with class size limits and safety measures in place to protect against COVID-19. View more details & FAQ. To support Spring Term planning, select services are available on campus, with prior appointments required in most cases and facial coverings and social distancing requirements in place. See the Student Services Guide.

Contact: John J. Glisch, Associate Vice President, Communications
Office:    321-433-7017 
Cell:         321-794-0324

U.S. Rep. Posey to Speak at Eastern Florida “Constitution Day” Event

September 4, 2013 - U.S. Rep. Bill Posey will be the keynote speaker during a program to mark Constitution Day and discuss the document’s meaning Sept. 16 at Eastern Florida State College.

The three-term Republican member of the House of Representatives will be joined by members of the Eastern Florida faculty who will also present their thoughts on the Constitution, which officially celebrates its 226th birthday Sept. 17.

The event will be held from noon to 1 p.m. in the Melbourne campus auditorium, which is located in Building 4. It is open to the public.

“We’re honored to have Congressman Posey with us to commemorate the document that’s the foundation of American democracy and serves as a beacon for freedom around the world,” said college President, Dr. Jim Richey.

“It’s a great opportunity for students and everyone in the community to learn more about its importance in our daily lives, including the Bill of Rights that we hold so dear.”

The program is sponsored by the Melbourne Student Government Association and Assistant Political Science Professor Chris Muro.

\Other featured speakers include Alicia Spring, an instructor of world religions; Dr. Lee Wyatt, an instructor of history; and Dr. Rick Parrish, a professor of history.

Posey, who graduated from Brevard Community College in 1969 with an Associate in Arts Degree, will take questions from the audience after his remarks.

He represents Florida’s 8th Congressional District that includes Brevard County, Indian River County and part of Orange County.

He sits on the House Science, Space and Technology Committee and Financial Services Committee, and served in the Florida House of Representatives and Florida Senate before he was elected to Congress in 2008.