Contact: Mark DeCotis, Athletic Communications
Office:    321-433-5700 
Cell:         321-759-4540

State Softball Tournament Pushed Back a Day; Titans Open Play on Saturday

April 30, 2014 - Torrential rains and flooding in the Pensacola area have pushed the Florida College System Activities Association/NJCAA Region 8 softball tournament to Saturday to Monday from the original Friday to Sunday schedule.

Eastern Florida now plays its first game on Saturday meeting the College of Central Florida at noon Central time (1 p.m. Eastern) at Exchange Park.

Win or lose the Titans will play their second game at 5 p.m. Central (6 p.m. Eastern) Saturday against either fellow Southern Conference team Indian River State – the nation's No. 1-ranked team – or Seminole State College.

Eastern Florida is making its 10th consecutive appearance in the state tournament.