Mark DeCotis, Athletic Communications

Office:  321-433-5700, 321-759-4540 (C)

BCC Women Earn Second National Top 15 Soccer Ranking

August 16, 2012 - The Brevard Community College women's soccer team received its second top-15 preseason ranking, finishing 13th in the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) poll.

Earlier this month BCC was ranked eighth nationally in the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) poll.

Defending NJCAA Division I national champion Tyler Junior College of Tyler, TX was ranked No. 1 in both the NSCAA and NJCAA polls while 2011 NCJAA championship finalist Darton College of Georgia was ranked No. 2 by both associations.

BCC, which finished 9-4-1 in 2011, the program's second year of existence, missed qualifying for the national tournament by one goal, falling 2-1 to Darton in the district final.

BCC faces stiff challenges early on, playing Butler Community College of Kansas — ranked fourth by the NSCAA and fifth by the NJCAA — in Kansas on Sept. 7; Tyler on Sept. 8, also at Butler; and Darton on Sept. 15 at Darton.

And if those games aren't enough, Brevard jumps right into its vital first two matches against in-state foes Polk State College in Auburndale and Broward College in Davie on Sept. 18 and 21 respectively. Those games and four subsequent matches will determine whether Brevard qualifies for the postseason that concludes with the Nov. 11-17 NJCAA national tournament at Melbourne Central Catholic.

BCC opens the season against St. Louis Community College at 2 PM Saturday, Sept. 1 at Viera Regional Park.

2012 NSCAA pre-season women's junior college Division I soccer poll:

1. Tyler Junior College

2. Darton College

3. Harford Community College

4. Butler Community College

5. Monroe College

6. Laramire County Community College

7. North Idaho College

8. Iowa Western Community College

9. Paradise Valley Community College

10. Georgia Perimeter College

11. Lewis & Clark Community College

12. Community College of Rhode Island

13. Brevard Community College

14. Waubonsee Community College

15. Western Texas College

16. Navarro Junior College

17. Southwestern Illinois College

18. Chandler-Gilbert Community College

19. Cape Fear Community College

20. Johnson County Community College