As part of EFSC's commitment to provide a safe and positive college experience for every student, EFSC now requires all currently enrolled students to participate in an important online training program called "Think About It." Visit the course information page to learn more about its content and login to the myEFSC Portal before the December 1 deadline to begin the course.



Mark DeCotis, Athletic Communications

Office:  321-433-5700, 321-759-4540 (C)

BCC Top Seed as 12 Teams Head to Women's Soccer National Championship Tournament

November 5, 2012 - A strong field of 12 teams has been assembled for the Nov. 12-17 NJCAA Division I Women's Soccer National Championship Tournament, hosted by Brevard Community College and held at Melbourne Central Catholic.

In addition to defending national champion Tyler Junior College of Texas (16-2-2) the field features 2011 national finalist Darton College of Georgia (13-5) and returnees Butler County Community College of Kansas (22-2) and Monroe Community College of New York (17-1).

Paradise Valley Community College of Arizona (19-0-1), the 2010 national champion, is back after a one-year absence.

Tournament host Brevard Community College (13-1) makes its first appearance. BCC, ranked No. 1 in the nation in the NJCAA poll, is the tournament's top seed and opens pool play at 9 a.m. Monday, Nov. 12 against 12th seed Muskegon Community College of Michigan (8-4-1). BCC plays its second pool game at 9 a.m. Wednesday, Nov. 14 against Darton which is ranked eighth. Darton and Muskegon play on Tuesday, Nov. 13.

 Any ties atop pool play will be decided with games on Thursday, Nov. 15, a scheduled off day. The four pool winners advance to the semifinals.

Also competing are Laramie County Community College of Wyoming (13-2), St. Louis Community College of Missouri (16-3-1), College of Lake County of Illinois (16-1-1), Iowa Western Community College (17-1-1) and Louisburg College of North Carolina (13-6).

BCC beat St. Louis, Butler and Darton this season, losing only to Tyler.

Four games of pool play begin at 9 a.m. Monday, Nov. 12 and continue at 11:30 a.m., and 2 and 4:30 p.m. Pool play continues on Tuesday, Nov. 13 and Wednesday, Nov. 14 at the same times.

The tournament semifinals are set for 10 a.m. and 2 p.m. Friday, Nov. 16 and the national championship game for 6 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 17.

All games will be played at Melbourne Central Catholic, 100 Florida Ave., Melbourne, FL, 32901.

Admission prices for tournament games are: Daily passes: Adult, $10, student, $7; tournament passes: Adult, $25, student, $15. Children 5 and under will be admitted for free.

Games will be webcast at and on NJCAATV at

The tournament seeding is:

1.  Brevard Community College, Fla. (12-1-0)
2.  Paradise Valley Community College, Ariz. (19-0-1)
3.  Iowa Western Community College (17-1-1)
4.  Butler Community College, Kan. (22-2-0)
5.  Tyler Junior College, Texas (16-2-2)
6.  Monroe Community College, N.Y. (17-1-0)
7.  Laramie County Community College, Wyo. (13-2-0)
8.  Darton State College, Ga. (13-5-0)
9.  St. Louis Community College, Mo. (16-3-1)
10.  College of Lake County, Ill. (16-1-1)
11.  Louisburg College, N.C. (13-6-0)
12.  Muskegon Community College, Mich. (8-4-1)