As part of EFSC's commitment to provide a safe and positive college experience for every student, EFSC now requires all currently enrolled students to participate in an important online training program called "Think About It." Visit the course information page to learn more about its content and login to the myEFSC Portal before the December 1 deadline to begin the course.

Contact: Mark DeCotis, Athletic Communications
Office:    321-433-5700 
Cell:         321-759-4540

Eastern Florida Youth Golf Camp Closes With Annual Awards

View more award ceremony photos in our Facebook Gallery.

June 26, 2014 - Ten youth golfers were recognized following the 22nd Annual Eastern Florida State College P.J. Wilson and Henry Scott Youth Golf Camp.

Bryon Weikle receives the 2014 EFSC Scholarship

The awards were presented Thursday at the Ralph M. Williams Student Center on Eastern Florida's Cocoa Campus.

The top award — the annual scholarship — went to Rockledge's Bryon Weikle, 17, a rising senior at Rockledge High.

"Bryon Weikle carries on the tradition and honor as a deserving recipient of this year's PJ Wilson/Henry Scott Youth Golf Camp scholarship to Eastern Florida State College," said Eastern Florida head golf coach Jamie Howell. "Bryon has been a dedicated attendee for the past five years and he has continued to improve not only as a golfer but as a young man. He sets a bar that will be challenging to those who follow as he tends to his academics first and makes sure he has the tools necessary to advance to the next step in life.

"The scholarship is awarded each year to one student who embodies all that the camp is about, carrying on the tradition of introducing the game and offering the opportunity of access for the youth of Brevard County in memory of Mr. Scott and Mr. Wilson.

"The recipient shows not only a commitment to learning more about golf but also being a good citizen, respecting academics, displaying good sportsmanship, and possessing character consistent with the spirit of Mr. Scott and Mr. Wilson."

The scholarship covers tuition for two years, up to achieving requirements for the student to receive an Associate in Arts Degree from EFSC.

awards group

Recognition also was given to campers in three groups: Instructor Roosevelt Jackson's group for beginning golfers who have never played; instructor Isaac Johnson's group for intermediate golfers who have some background in the game and Howell's group for experienced athletes who have played and competed.

Recognized from Jackson's group were: Most improved: Vincent Roper; Sportsmanship: McKenna Russell; Attitude: Noah Russell.

From Johnson's group: Most improved: Renee Bucek; Sportsmanship: Ryan Landrau; Attitude: Carleigh Oldaker.

From Howell's group: Most improved: Matai'Jhae Small; Sportsmanship: Gianna Piscitelli; Attitude: Payton Baker

The camp was begun in 1992 under the guidance of former EFSC President Dr. Maxwell King with assistance from Scott and Wilson, two African American golf professionals in Brevard County. For years it was known as the Minority Golf Camp because of its efforts to reach out to minorities, but it's always been open to all young people.

Wilson passed away in 2000 and Scott in 2002.

The camp continues with the support of EFSC President Dr. Jim Richey and the EFSC Board of Trustees.

For information on the 2015 camp contact Kathy Bauernfeind, at 321-433-5502.