As part of EFSC's commitment to provide a safe and positive college experience for every student, EFSC now requires all currently enrolled students to participate in an important online training program called "Think About It." Visit the course information page to learn more about its content and login to the myEFSC Portal before the December 1 deadline to begin the course.

Contact: Mark DeCotis, Athletic Communications
Office:    321-433-5700 
Cell:         321-759-4540

Youth Golf Camp Participants Honored

July 2, 2013 - Ten youth golfers were recognized following the 21st Annual Eastern Florida State College P.J. Wilson and Henry Scott Youth Golf Camp.

The awards were presented June 27 at the Ralph M. Williams Student Center on Eastern Florida's Cocoa Campus.

Scholarship winner Sabella Goodwin receives her award from Camp Instructor Roosevelt Jackson during the Golf Camp Awards.

The 2013 scholarship winner was Sabella Goodwin, 15, of Merritt Island, a rising junior at Merritt Island High.

"The scholarship is awarded each year to one student who embodies all that the camp is about, carrying on the tradition of introducing the game and offering the opportunity of access for the youth of Brevard County in memory of Mr. Scott and Mr. Wilson," Eastern Florida head golf coach Jamie Howell said.

"The recipient shows not only a commitment to learning more about golf but also being a good citizen, respecting academics, displaying good sportsmanship, and possessing character consistent with the spirit of Mr. Scott and Mr. Wilson."

The scholarship covers tuition for two years, up to achieving requirements for the student to receive an Associate in Arts Degree from EFSC.

Recognition also was given to campers in three groups: Instructor Roosevelt Jackson's group for beginning golfers who have never played; instructor Isaac Johnson's group for intermediate golfers who have some background in the game and Howell's group for experienced athletes who have played and competed.

The medallion winners were: Jackson's group: Most improved: Matai'jhae Small; Sportsmanship: Wesley Liverman; Attitude: VaChean Colclough.

Johnson's group: Most improved: Jaylen Goffigan; Sportsmanship: James Goffigan; Attitude: Zacchaeus Lewis.

Howell's group: Most improved: Isadore Bolton; Sportsmanship: Justin Lansing; Attitude: Tommy Davidson.

The camp was begun in 1992 under the guidance of former EFSC President Dr. Maxwell King with assistance from Scott and Wilson, two African American golf professionals in Brevard County. For years it was known as the Minority Golf Camp because of its efforts to reach out to minorities, but it's always been open to all young people.

Wilson passed away in 2000 and Scott in 2002.

The camp continues with the support of EFSC President Dr. Jim Richey and Dr. Joe Lee Smith. Smith has been active with the camp since its inception and has volunteered countless hours assisting at the camp.

Don Williams was a key organizer of the camp during the late 1990s and early 2000s.

For information on the 2014 camp contact Kathy Bauernfeind, at 321-433-5502.