Contact: Mark DeCotis, Athletic Communications
Office:    321-433-5700 
Cell:         321-759-4540

EFSC Men's Basketball Team Bestows Honors


hoops banquet

May 20, 2014 - Eastern Florida's men's basketball team, which won its second consecutive Florida College System Activities Association Southern Conference championship, appeared in the FCSAA/NJCAA Region 8 tournament for the second straight season and extended its home court winning streak to 31 games, honored its players at a recent banquet.

The awards presented by head coach Jeremy Shulman and his staff went to:

- Co-MVP: Sophomores Ben Patrick and Torrance Rowe. Rowe will continue his career at NCAA Division I Tennessee Tech.

-          Newcomer of Year: Freshman Demetrius McReynolds.

-          Defensive Player of the Year: Mike Kirkland. Kirkland will continue his career at NCAA Division I Fairfield University in Connecticut.

-          Toughness award: Jure Gunjina. Gunjina will continue his career at NCAA Division I Indiana Purdue Fort Wayne (IPFW).

-          Lou Adams Award: Julian Adams. The award is for what characterizes a student-athlete in Eastern Florida's men's program: work ethic, character, team mentality and unselfishness. Louis Adams is a former Brevard Community College (now Eastern Florida) men's basketball player who played at NCAA Division I South Carolina State and for the Senegal National Team. Julian Adams, a sophomore from Palm Bay, FL and Bayside High, will continue his career at NAIA Ave Maria University in Ave Maria, FL.

Eastern Florida finished the season at 24-7 and has a 50-14 record over the past two seasons.