Board of Trustees Update


The next regularly scheduled Trustees meeting will be held Monday, June 19, 2017 at 9 AM in the Building 8 (Public Safety Institute), 3rd Floor Board Room on the Melbourne Campus, 3865 N. Wickham Road.


Trustees Manual

Read the EFSC Board of Trustees Policy Governance Manual last updated in October 2016.


Eastern Florida State College

District Board of Trustees

Moses L. Harvin Sr., Chair
Alan H. Landman, Vice Chair
Myra Igo Haley
Dewey L. Harris
Ronald Howse



Moses L. Harvin Sr. is President and CEO of American Services Technology, Inc., a company that serves federal agencies including the Air Force, Army, Department of Veterans Affairs and Department of Energy. The Melbourne resident was the first African American elected Chairman of the Board of Directors for the Cocoa Beach Area Chamber of Commerce, and was elected as a member of the Board of Trustees for Claflin University in South Carolina. Harvin is a member of the following organizations: Civilian and Military Council, Eastern Florida State College Foundation Board of Governors, National Minority Supplier Development Council, National Contract Management Association, Florida/NASA Business Incubation Center (TRDA), United Way of Brevard, Association of the United States Army, Lead Brevard, Host of Brevard, National Space Club and Mt. Moriah Missionary Baptist Church. Harvin received an undergraduate degree from Claflin University and a Master's Degree from Webster University. He received his commission in the U.S. Army from South Carolina State University. In a distinguished military career during which he rose to the rank of major, Harvin received the Bronze Star, Meritorious Service Medal and Joint Service Medal. Badges include the U.S. Army Ranger Tab. Harvin was first appointed to the College's Board of Trustees for a term beginning November 8, 2011 and reappointed in July 2015 for a term that ends May 31, 2019. He was named the Board's Chair in August 2016 following a one-year term as Vice Chair.


Alan Landman

A Brevard County resident since 1987, Mr. Landman received his undergraduate degree from the University of Florida in 1984 and his Juris Doctorate degree from the University of Florida in 1987. Mr. Landman worked for one of Brevard's largest law firms until 1993 when he started his own practice specializing in criminal and family law. He is a member of the Florida Bar as well as four United States District Courts, the Supreme Court of Florida, and the United States Supreme Court. Mr. Landman was nationally recognized in 2004 when one of his criminal trials was aired on Court T.V. In 1999, Florida Today named him as the top DUI attorney in Brevard County after an analysis of more than 10,000 cases. Mr. Landman was appointed to a four-year term on the Eighteenth Circuit Judicial Nominating Commission in 2008 by Gov. Charlie Crist, and reappointed for another four-year term in 2012 by Gov. Rick Scott. Mr. Landman served as President for the Indian Harbour Beach Little League and has contributed or been involved with numerous community schools and charities. Mr. Landman was appointed to the Board (succeeding Clarence McCotter) for a term beginning June 19, 2009 and ending May 31, 2013. Gov. Scott reappointed Landman for a second four-year term that ends in May 2017. Landman was named Vice Chair of the Board in August 2016, a position he previously held from August 2014-15. He also served as Board Chair from August 2011 to August 2014 and again for the 2015-16 academic year.



Ms. Myra Igo Haley, a resident of Indian Harbour Beach, brings more than 25 years of professional experiences to the College's Board of Trustees. She spent the first seven years of her career in the health care industry at three hospitals in Indianapolis, Indiana, where she worked first as a staff nurse, and later as a patient care manager, nursing manager and supplemental administrator. In 1992, Ms. Haley moved her career to Melbourne, Florida and simultaneously transitioned out of the health care industry. From 1994 to 2000, Ms. Haley served as President of Suntree Properties, Inc. She currently works at two different organizations serving in the following capacities: President of The Suntree Partners, a position she has held since 1992, and President of the Igo Family Foundation, a position she has held since 1995. Beyond her accomplished career, Ms. Haley is an active community member serving on multiple boards including the Health First Foundation, Holy Trinity Episcopal Academy, Rossetter House Museum, and Renaissance Administration. Prior to her appointment on the Board of Trustees, she also contributed her time and talents to the College as member of the Maxwell C. King Center of Performing Arts Board of Directors. Ms. Haley holds a bachelor's degree in business administration from the University of Mississippi and a diploma degree from Baptist Memorial Hospital School of Nursing in Memphis, Tennessee. She was appointed to the College Board of Trustees on June 21, 2011 (succeeding Ms. Dixie Sansom's seat) and reappointed in August 2014 for a term that runs through May 31, 2018.



Mr. Harris earned a bachelor's degree in history and international affairs from Florida State University in 1968 and has been a Brevard County resident for more than 40 years. He taught elementary school in Brevard County for 10 years, including at Stevenson Elementary School in Merritt Island, before moving to Inverness, Florida where he and his wife opened a private elementary school, which they operated for three years. Mr. Harris went on to earn a bachelor's degree in accounting from the University of Central Florida in 1979 and has been practicing accounting ever since. He started his accounting career at Davies, Houser & Secrest, C.P.A., P.A. in Cocoa. In September 2000, Mr. Harris started his own accounting firm, Harris, Miller & Bernhardt, P.A., which serves not only Brevard County business and property owners, but also international clients who do business or own property in Brevard. In addition to his professional career, Mr. Harris has been actively involved in numerous community organizations in Brevard County over the past three decades. He currently serves as a board member for Circles of Care and the Cocoa Village Playhouse, which he has been involved with for 18 years. Mr. Harris was appointed to the College Board of Trustees (succeeding James Theriac) for a term beginning August 10, 2010 and reappointed in August 2014 for a term that runs through May 31, 2018.


EFSC Trustee Ron HowseRonald Howse is a self-employed investor, licensed civil engineer and land surveyor. The Cocoa resident received his Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Central Florida. “The focus of the college on helping the community and working closely with businesses is phenomenal,” said Howse. “My daughter also went to then-BCC, had a great experience and is now in medical school so this is a way for me to give something back.” His appointment by Gov. Rick Scott is for a term beginning July 15, 2015, and ending May 31, 2019.