The Fire Training Academy offers persons interested in becoming a firefighter excellent training that will prepare them in meeting the state Fire Fighter standards. EFSC is in partnership with the Canaveral Port Authority (CPA) and offers Fire Fighter Minimum Standards classes at this state-of-the-art facility.
Fire Training Academy students can earn the Fire Fighter, Florida Minimum Standards Post-Secondary Adult Vocational Certificate (PSAV), which requires 13 total credit hours and 398 total clock hours.
First Responder is a prerequisite to enter the Fire Training Academy.
Admission into the Fire Training Academy is through "special application".
Interested persons may contact Annette Barrios at 321-433-5707 or click below to request more information.
Note: All interested persons should read the "Information Packet" prior to applying for the program.
Spring Term Deadline - December 4th
Fall Term Deadline - June 14th
To meet community needs, EFSC offers two minimum standards programs:
• Full Time Day Class - designed for students who can commit to a demanding day time schedule. Classes are from 8 AM until 5 PM, Monday through Thursday, for approximately three months.
• Part Time Night / Weekend – designed for students who need to work while attending the academy. Classes are on Tuesday and Thursday from 6 PM until 10 PM; Saturday and Sunday 8 AM until 5 PM (Selected weekends off). Training lasts approximately five months.
Tuition – Florida State Resident:
Firefighter I (7 Vocational Credits) $538.51 Firefighter II (6 Vocational Credits) $461.58
One Time Costs:
Application fee for EFSC - $30
Application fee for Institute of Public Safety - $25
Text Books (Approximate) - $150
Uniform Items (Approximate) - $140
Liability Insurance - $16
Accident Insurance - $10.50
BFST Fingerprint & Processing Fee - $95
Recurring Costs for FF 1 & FF 2:
Facility use fee - $575
EFSC Lab Fee - $20
Bunker Gear Rental (as negotiated with rental company)
1. Where is the Fire Training Academy Located and when is the next class?
The Academy is located at Fire Station 52 in Cape Canaveral. Classes are usually scheduled to start in conjunction with the start of the college semester. At least two classes are scheduled each year (spring & fall).
2. What is Minimum Standards for Firefighters?
This is the education and training needed to become a firefighter in the State of Florida as defined by State Statute. The Bureau of Fire Standards and Training is the agency responsible to ensure its compliance, through testing.
3. Why does EFSC offer Minimum Standards in two modules (Firefighter I & II)?
Minimum Standards is divided into two modules to serve the needs of students who want to become a professional firefighter vs. those who want to serve as volunteers and are looking for some formal training. Also, by offering two modules, students who already received their FF I certification from the Bureau of Fire Standards and Training can continue in FF II without going through FF I again.
4. Do you need to be an EMT or Paramedic to become a firefighter?
The state of Florida does not require firefighters to be an EMT or Paramedic, however most Fire Departments require their personnel to have formal medical training. At this time the EFSC Fire Training Academy does not require EMT as part of the entrance requirements, however preference points are given to students with formal training. EFSC offers EMT and Paramedic training.
5. Does the Fire Academy require any prerequisite courses?
The Fire Training Academy requires First Responder certification.
6. What if I received my Firefighter training at another location?
If you received FF I training at another facility and possess a current FF I certificate from the Florida Bureau of Fire Standards and Training, you are eligible to apply for the FF II module of the EFSC Minimum Standards course.
7. How long does the academy last?
Minimum Standards is 450 hours long divided into two 225 hours modules.
8. Will I be a certified firefighter upon graduation from the Fire Training Academy?
You must successfully pass the State of Florida Bureau of Fire Standards & Training written and practical exam to become certified.
9. Why do I have to take the TABE test?
Academics play a large role in becoming a firefighter. This test is designed to identify the state recognized academic performance level for this class.
10. What if I was arrested?
The Bureau of Fire Standards & Training determines your criminal record through fingerprint identification. If you have questions about your past criminal activity, you may contact the Fire Science Program Coordinator or the Bureau of Fire Standards & Training for further consultation.
11. Why do I need a medical exam before class starts?
The Bureau of Fire Standards and Training requires an up-to-date medical exam documented on the state-approved medical form. EFSC requires that you complete this prior to taking the physical agility test so that any medical abnormalities which may be detrimental to your health are identified prior to your participation.
12. Why do I have to take a "physical agility test" to enter the academy?
Many tasks performed by firefighters involve physical demands. The EFSC physical agility test is designed to ensure that you are capable of performing at the minimum level required to participate in the various training exercises.
Building 9, Room 190
Fire & EMS Department Chair
Building 9, Room 194
Assistant Program Coordinator /
Fire Academy Chief
Building 9, Room 195
You will need to have completed the application process to EFSC before applying to Fire Training Academy programs. You may complete the application online and click the "submit" button.
There is a $25 Public Safety Application Fee, which can be paid online or at any campus Cashier's Office.